• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Thrive Informant
    Member #
    Liked
    5 times

Mobile hotspot + signal booster?

We have no internet at our summer place and weak cell signal at best. I just heard about cell signal amplifiers, do they work? The one I was looking at on Amazon was getting all great reviews. So, I'm due for a cell phone upgrade and if I buy one and use the mobile hotspot function and a cell signal amplifier will it increase the WiFi signal from the phone so I can go online with my Thrive?

2. Ads

Agent Thrive
    Member #
    Liked
    89 times
    Do you right now have a data plan on you phone and what is your provider.

Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    1294 times
    I have no knowledge, but I would think an amplifier would only extend an already good signal. For example, if you got a good signal in an upstairs bedroom, but not in a downstairs living room or basement, an amplifier might extend that signal into those rooms. I think what you would really need is something with a better antenna that could pick up weaker signals and make them available to your phone/hotspot throughout the home. I do not know if these hotspot devices have better antennas than phones or if such external antennas are available.

Cheers, Dave
    Cheers, Dave

ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

Thrive Informant
    Member #
    Liked
    8 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Woodsmoke View Post
    ... will it increase the WiFi signal from the phone...
    No. WiFi is totally different from cellular in terms of frequency. So, not a snowballs chance in hell of the amplifier boosting the WiFi signal on your phone.