• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
Like Tree4Likes

Thread: do I have to make my phone a hot spot to connect it to my thrive?

  1. #1
    Thrive Informant
    Member #
    7484
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Liked
    2 times

    do I have to make my phone a hot spot to connect it to my thrive?

    This might be a dumb question but I'm new to tablets. Can I get an internet connection on my tablet through my phone without paying to have the hot spot feature activated on my phone? I read somewhere that it looks like you can do this throught the blue tooth? or mayba a usb port? thanks!
    RISK likes this.

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,843
    Liked
    1294 times
    Almost all the info I've read says either the phone, the Thrive, or both have to be rooted to get around needing to subscribe to yet another data plan. Of course, it all depends on your service. I'm still working on getting my Droid connected. I believe it needs to be rooted, I just haven't got there yet. I don't even really care, but now it's becoming a mission just to see if I can do it.
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  4. #3
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    6614
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    5 times
    Well you can use a program called pdanet. You download the program for the phone and the pdanet for tablets. This method requires a cable connection. I for one love the wireless method. This one requires a rooted phone and the app is called WiFi wireless tether. This method uses your 3g connection from your cell phone.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
    RISK and lastcatspike like this.

  5. #4
    Thrive Informant
    Member #
    378
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Danbury, CT.
    Posts
    48
    Liked
    3 times
    Does rooting the Evo cause any features to be lost? I had read that some lose the camera when they root.

  6. #5
    Thrive Informant
    Member #
    6051
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Greenville NC
    Posts
    44
    Liked
    2 times
    us cellular phones are free like mine aslong as you dont get over 5gb

  7. #6
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    6614
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    5 times
    When it comes to rooting your phone, you may lose certain functions of your phone. But that depends on the custom rom that you flash. To see what functions you nay lose, just check the information the developer list about his custom ROM. The ROM I am using now, I can not use 4g but that's ok with me since its not in my area anyways.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

  8. #7
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    6614
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by phonegeek View Post
    us cellular phones are free like mine aslong as you dont get over 5gb
    I have Sprint and its unlimited data. I prefer this plan. You don't realize how fast you can reach your data limit, when you are downloading so much stuff.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

  9. #8
    Thrive Operative
    Member #
    7000
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    north atlanta
    Posts
    213
    Liked
    16 times
    Twitter
    goldenicon
    Quote Originally Posted by JoeRnCT View Post
    Does rooting the Evo cause any features to be lost? I had read that some lose the camera when they root.
    Varies by the rom you flash. You can root your phone and leave the stock fully functional rom.

    What phone / provider do you have freedom?

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk
    Rooted Devices: HTC Evo (x2), Nook Color, Logitech Revue (sigh), Toshiba Thrive, Samsung Galaxy S, Asus Transformer
    unRooted Devices: Ego-T, and myself as of late.

    IF you find a post that is helpful to you, make sure to click the "like" in the bottom right. Give your fellow users a heads up on what's useful and it's an easy way to contribute.

  10. #9
    Thrive Informant
    Member #
    7484
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    40
    Liked
    2 times
    I have the Droid II Verizon. I can't switch providers because it's through my work

  11. #10
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    6614
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    22
    Liked
    5 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Freedom1 View Post
    I have the Droid II Verizon. I can't switch providers because it's through my work
    With this Droid do you have unlimited data plan? And can you root your phone even tho you have a company phone?

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk
    tamed likes this.


 


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

best hotspot for toshiba thrive tablet

,
can i connect my lg phone to my tablet for wifi
,
can i get my phone internet to my tablet without paying for a hot spot
,
can i get the internet on surface tablet through my cell phone provider
,
can i use my phone hotspot on my acer tablet?
,
hkw do i make my tablet use the knternet from my phone
,

how can i share the data from my phone to my toshiba thrive tablet

,
how do i connect my samsung phone to my toshiba tablet
,
how do i make my lg motion a hot spot for my tablet
,

how do you share wireless from samsung galaxy s4 to toshiba thrive tablet

,

how to connect my thrive to my cell phone

,

how to find hotspot for my toshiba tablet

,
i just got a tablet. how do i find the best hot spot internet service
,

i'm looking for a hotspot grogram for my tashiba tablet

,

toshiba tablet hotspot

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.