• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
    Thrive Tech
    Member #
    Liked
    267 times

How Do I change Device Name?

When I am tinkering with my router firmware, and I have 4 to 6 android devices all with cryptic device names like android-344564333953945,
    it would be nice to see bobj_thrive instead. So I installed the app "HOSTS", which will change my Thrive's device name. Not a bad solution.
    But the new device name only remains it until I re-boot the Thrive, because the device name is re-generated from device specific firmware data, returning it to the former, cryptic, name.

So I am thinking ... maybe I have two solutions to re-name the Thrive in a more permanent manner? (Win7 and Linux are easy, but I am an Android noob.)
    1 - I could have
    HOSTS run as a startup app automatically when the Thrive boots.
    2 - Put the code "su busybox hostname bobj_thrive" some where in an "init.rc" type of file, (after android-344564333953945 has been re-generated from the booting)

Does this sound right? Can anyone help me with the correct way to do either? Or am I missing option 3 entirely?

Thanks, bobj

Last edited by bobj; 09-13-2011 at 07:37 AM.

2. Ads

Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    907 times
    Some routers allow you to edit the displayed names, which are then stored in a table, linked to MAC.

Thrive Tech
    Member #
    Liked
    267 times