• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    10408
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times

    Android process media stopped working (again and again)

    Hi folks! I have been researching this problem, and it's been a great annoyance.

    Randomly, I have been getting the android.process.media stopped working messages. As per to forums' advice, I went to the settings and cleared the data and cache for the media.

    This is a dilemma, because the error occurs again whenever I insert an sd card with pictures and video files. I have a feeling that this media process is trying to grab some thumbnails and other info from the new media file, but some video files are simply not playable in the thrive (e.g. 1080p video from a digital camera). As such I think the process is creating corrupted thumbnails or other information that is causing it to crash.

    In all honesty, is there a way to make this error stop? The Thrive is not rooted and I plan not to do so. Hopefully, rooting won't be a necessary to fix this problem.

    Thank you!

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,843
    Liked
    1294 times
    Whenever you insert an SD card or USB drive, the system scans for media files. If you have a corrupted file causing a problem, one recourse is to:

    copy them to a PC
    erase the card
    test it in the Thrive (reformat if needed)
    copy them back to the card a few at a time
    retest in Thrive
    repeat until you find the offending file(s)
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  4. #3
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    10408
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    What about a file that the Thrive cannot read, not because it's corrupt but because of the file's structure? e.g. 1080p video file.

  5. #4
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,843
    Liked
    1294 times
    Quote Originally Posted by tdkyo View Post
    What about a file that the Thrive cannot read, not because it's corrupt but because of the file's structure? e.g. 1080p video file.
    Sorry, I don't know enough about that, but if you have those, you might try copying/deleting them first to see if that's the problem.
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  6. #5
    Developer

    Member #
    459
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    8,928
    Liked
    1951 times
    What file extension is on the 1080p files. They should play on the Thrive. If the stock video player does not support them I do think Mobo or MX player will. You should not get process errors even if the file is not supported.
    My Development
    Easy Flash Tool (DOS) | Root/Unroot Tool (Linux)
    DaleNet ROMs Section - Fully Stock Roms and Rooted Stock ROMs for many different regions.

    - Click Here to Support My Work -


  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    107
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    PDX
    Posts
    6,429
    Liked
    907 times
    Put an empty file named '.nomedia' in the directory you don't want Media Scan to read the files.
    Found my signature file, but it appears to be empty...

  8. #7
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    10408
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    3
    Liked
    0 times
    Thank you very much guys! Reformatting the card did help for the sd card that had some movies in it. No more error messages!

    Just in case (because I use a different photo gallery app anyway), I will put that nomedia file into all of my sd cards.

    Thanks again!

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,843
    Liked
    1294 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mcarver2000 View Post
    Put an empty file named '.nomedia' in the directory you don't want Media Scan to read the files.
    Ok, that kind of works. However, if you try to "play" a media file, that seems to initiate the scan and the selected file starts/stops, etc., until the scan completes. The files then play flawlessly once the scan is done. I wonder how many folks complaining about their movies not playing smoothly are experiencing this because of the media scan. I wonder if a way around this would be to put movies in individual folders with a .nomedia file? Guess I found something to play with today.
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  10. #9
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    5451
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    21
    Liked
    8 times
    Twitter
    briandickert
    I'm getting this same message (over and over again). I cleared the app data for media, and it seemed to stop for a day or two, & now it occurs just after start up.

    I googled this error message about a month ago and didn't see anything on Thrive Forums.

    I just put in an empty SD card and still got the error message.

    I posted a message today in the CWM instruction thread b/c that is hanging. TB is also hanging (always on the Google Currents app), and when I look at the Settings > Storage the system never calculates the sizes, everything keeps saying Calculating...

    I'm at the point where I think I need to re-load the ROM, but I can't seem to make a Backup from CWM or TB.

    I can access my files with the USB cable on the computer, so which files should I save?

    Edit:
    I will also add, I am getting errors with media files starting for a few seconds and then they stop and a message says this type of file cannot be played.
    Last edited by BrianD; 02-01-2012 at 03:28 PM.

  11. #10
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    1827
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    24
    Liked
    6 times
    I used to get the same error message before (android.process.media stopped working). The message went away after I "cleaned up" Google Currents App.

    It turned out Google Currents app has been downloading a lot of files and got bloated to 3-4GB with a lot of small files and directories. It takes a long time for media scan to scan those files. It took me 20 minutes just to delete those files under Google Currents.

    Check this thread:

    Settings --> Applications --> Manage Applications --> Computing... takes a long time

    Hope it helps.

    -William
    Last edited by wklam; 02-01-2012 at 05:59 PM.


 


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

andriod.process.media has stopped message in galaxy s3
,
android media stopped working
,
android process media has stopped
,

android process media has stopped working

,
android.media has stopped working
,
android.process.media
,
android.process.media has stopped working
,
how to make android.process.media work again
,
htc incredible s android.process.media not responding
,
process android.process.media has stopped. pivos media player
,
unfortunately the process android.process.media has stopped
,
video player for note tablet stopped working
,
video player stopped in android
,
what causes android media to stop working
,
???????? ?????????????? ?????????? ????????????????
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.