• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    2438
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times

    Browser just shuts down

    Hello all! I am a new Thrieve user and fairly new to Android. Anyway, I am experiencing a very annoying issue. My browser will just shut dow and I end up back on the home or main screen of the device. At first it was using the default browser that came with he device. So, based on comments that I have seen here, I went and downloaded the Dolphin browsr. Same thing happens with it as well. 90% of my browsing is on a vBulletin forum that I run and on Facebook. Almost nothing installed on the device and no other programs running with the browser except for Gmail. So, I am a bit clueless on how to troubleshoot and correct this. Can anyone lend a hand?

    Much thanks!

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Thrive Operative
    Member #
    1701
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    182
    Liked
    15 times
    Has it done that from the day you got it or has it just started recently? If recently, you could try a hard reset and see if that solves the problem for you. Then you can watch and see if it is a website that shuts your browser down. You might also try setting Dolphin to desktop to see if the vBulletin forum is causing the browser to shutdown. Maybe one of these will be the solution.

  4. #3
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    2438
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    5
    Liked
    1 times
    I was not doing much browsing when I first got the device, so just within the last few days is when I noticed it happening. I am afraid I have to show my ignorance regarding your comments about "setting dolphin to desktop" as I have only been running the software for about a day.

    Thanks for your help.

  5. #4
    Thrive Operative
    Member #
    1701
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Denver, Colorado
    Posts
    182
    Liked
    15 times
    Go to the settings at the bottom, then tap on the More icon, tap on settings, tap on Dolphin settings, then on User Agent. Tap on Desktop and close. Then the browser will be in desktop instead of mobile mode. Hope that solves it.

  6. #5
    Thrive Operative
    Member #
    2041
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    140
    Liked
    7 times
    I use Dolphin HD w/ user agent set to Desktop. Occasionally, my browser will not appear. I'll click on a link and all I will get is a blank, white screen and I will need to re-boot. It seems to happen about a couple of times a week. Last time it happened, a couple of days ago, I uninstalled Dolphin, re-installed from market place. I'm waiting to see if it occurs again.

  7. #6
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    107
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    PDX
    Posts
    6,399
    Liked
    886 times
    I had this happen to me recently, after quite some time of not having this problem (Dolphin HD). You may want to do a clean cache and history for Dolphin. Even if you uninstall an app, the cache and data does not necessarily get cleaned out.

    Dolphin -> Menu -> More -> Clear Data -> Clear Cache / Clear History

  8. #7
    Thrive Tech
    Member #
    523
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    IL
    Posts
    1,396
    Liked
    57 times
    For any forum stuff, tapatalk is where its at. Dolphin HD set to desktop too, not as fast though. 99% of the time though I'm on tapatalk.

    Sent from HTC Evo 3D using Tapatalk
    ~ Exile

    Toshiba Tank - OOM + Overclocked
    HTC Evo 3D - not rooted "yet"
    Lenovo Y560 - i7q720, ATI 5730, G700

    Rooting Guides: BatFish CWM Guide | Dalepl Roms | Bilgediver Root Videos


  9. #8
    Thrive Operative
    Member #
    2041
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    140
    Liked
    7 times
    Quote Originally Posted by mcarver2000 View Post
    I had this happen to me recently, after quite some time of not having this problem (Dolphin HD). You may want to do a clean cache and history for Dolphin. Even if you uninstall an app, the cache and data does not necessarily get cleaned out.

    Dolphin -> Menu -> More -> Clear Data -> Clear Cache / Clear History
    Thanks, I'll try this.

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk


 


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

android browser shuts down

,
android browser shuts down when how do i go to history
,

android browser shutting down

,
boat browser for android is shutting off why
,
browser on android just cuts off why
,
browser shut down android
,
browser shut down android 2.2
,
browser shuts down android 2.2
,

browser shuts down on android

,
browser shuts down randomly
,
dolphin browser turns off
,
galaxy browser shutting
,

iphone browser shuts down

,
toshiba thrive explorer shut down
,
what to do when android shuts browser off mario
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.