• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    3 times

Gotta Love Remote Desktop!!!

I'm a controls engineer and work on the controls programming for the conveyors and sorters in distribution centers. My employer provides me with a notebook PC, which currently is a Lenovo with a huge monitor. To do my job I have to lug that thing around while I test each device on the system for correct operation, including up and down ladders, etc. I swear that computer must weigh close to 10 pounds

Last week I was at a job site, and took my Thrive along - mainly to play with in my hotel in the evening. One day I had a brainstorm and downloaded an RDC/VNC app, and logged in to my PC, which, in turn, was logged in to the system controller over the plant wireless. I could then walk around carrying my Thrive, and run my PC remotely! Pretty cool!

2. Ads

Developer

Member #
    Liked
    1960 times
    Yes, isn't technolgy grand.
    My Development
    Easy Flash Tool (DOS) | Root/Unroot Tool (Linux)
    DaleNet ROMs Section - Fully Stock Roms and Rooted Stock ROMs for many different regions.

Thrive Informant
    Member #
    Liked
    9 times
    I design control systems for packaging machinery and I've been using the technology for years. I use to carry my Pocket PC running a VNC program connected to my laptop so I could walk around the machine and flag sensors and see the I/O table in the PLC. I love technology and the problems it solves. I won't mention the problems it causes sometimes.

Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    1 times
    Which app are you using? I'm a control engineer myself and have thought about this many times when lugging a laptop around.

Thrive Informant
    Member #
    Liked
    5 times