• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 51
Like Tree15Likes

Thread: ICS...what difference will it make..?

  1. #21
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,845
    Liked
    1295 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Halo View Post
    Okay then, I guess if and when we ever get ICS our description will change on our tablet in the Service Station. Just was curious on what they are doing to be updating so much. When your rooted you still get service station updates?
    I got a notice for 3.2.1 when I was still on 3.2, but nothing since. We can still check for updates, etc., we just can't install them and have to wait for Paul to get us an updated ROM.
    Shadow likes this.
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  2. Ads


  3. #22
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    4927
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    13,069
    Liked
    1983 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Halo View Post
    Okay then, I guess if and when we ever get ICS our description will change on our tablet in the Service Station. Just was curious on what they are doing to be updating so much. When your rooted you still get service station updates?
    As dalepl said, automatic updates do not happen with SS. Also, that if you're rooted, OS updates won't load. It will still function as a notifier, but even if you d/l the files they won't load.
    What you're seeing is a reporting of the device. (not unlike settings/tablet)
    My thinking still is that, if it's doing updating at all, SS is just maintaining itself, maybe "phoning home" as it were.
    ~Dan


    Running DaleNet Rooted ICS v4.0.4 and Turbo Prop mod

    No affiliation with Toshiba whatsoever- other than as a satisfied Thrive owner.

  4. #23
    Thrive Tech
    Member #
    7140
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    1,644
    Liked
    404 times
    Now I hope I don't see it either.Like you said don't use the SS Jeanette on updates , so I just X out. Only get it every once in awhile.I think the last one was when I ask you just the other day about it. I thought when I did look it said what it was for. come to think about it I think it did say 3.2.1 on it .


    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
    Sorry. I have only used the SS once, way back in November, so I have no idea. I did just take a look though and don't see any way to get a list of past updates.

    As a side note, it had been telling me I had an undate for 3.2.1 available, but it now shows my current dalepl ROM and no longer bugs me. I'm not sure when or why the change because it only recently stopped.
    Cheers, Jeanette ,
    "I am strong. I am invincible. I am redhead

    AT100
    Rooted (DaleNet HTK55D.31.5.0002 )

  5. #24
    Thrive Operative
    Member #
    5951
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    KC
    Posts
    169
    Liked
    22 times
    Twitter
    LAWNKILLER1
    I haven't updated in a long while, and the other day I notice SS notification. I almost got excited thinking ICS was here (don't know why, I really could care less but I did) but it was just reminding that I had two updates to do. I'll pay attention the next time it comes up and see what two they are. I noticed My Dolphin browser hasn't been doing the best lately (not that has anything to do with it). I may try unistalling the colored themes and see if that helps.
    UnRooted 16gb Thrive, aka the TAB

  6. #25
    Thrive Pursuant
    Member #
    10337
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    833
    Liked
    24 times
    I just checked my version and it says 3.2.131.5 Knock on wood I hope your always able to get the updates ok being rooted at all. Does Paul have a back up plan just in case he leaves the country?????????

  7. #26
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    4927
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    13,069
    Liked
    1983 times
    Quote Originally Posted by Halo View Post
    I just checked my version and it says 3.2.131.5 Knock on wood I hope your always able to get the updates ok being rooted at all. Does Paul have a back up plan just in case he leaves the country?????????
    It's not an issue. You can always flash the stock ROM and Toshiba will be none the wiser....
    So far as Paul's going anywhere......well, I hope we never have to deal with that...
    Last edited by danvee; 06-13-2012 at 06:04 PM.
    Halo likes this.
    ~Dan


    Running DaleNet Rooted ICS v4.0.4 and Turbo Prop mod

    No affiliation with Toshiba whatsoever- other than as a satisfied Thrive owner.

  8. #27
    Thrive Conveyor
    Member #
    8648
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Charlotte,NC,USA
    Posts
    336
    Liked
    58 times
    Twitter
    techdigital
    I just wanna be able to watch my time warner cable on my tablet but they blocked it unless u have ics

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by techdigital; 06-13-2012 at 06:29 PM.

  9. #28
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    4927
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    13,069
    Liked
    1983 times
    Quote Originally Posted by techdigital View Post
    I just wanna be able to watch my time warner cable on my tablet but they blocked it unless u have ics

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
    Do they provide a way to watch through a browser?
    ~Dan


    Running DaleNet Rooted ICS v4.0.4 and Turbo Prop mod

    No affiliation with Toshiba whatsoever- other than as a satisfied Thrive owner.

  10. #29
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,845
    Liked
    1295 times
    Quote Originally Posted by techdigital View Post
    I just wanna be able to watch my time warner cable on my tablet but they blocked it unless u have ics

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
    Now that's a good complaint. Did they just do this recently? I foresee more of this coming as more networks require a cable/sat account to watch content online.
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  11. #30
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    717
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    2,488
    Liked
    342 times
    My suggestion to anyone is to wait and let the dev's do their thing with ics before loading it.

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
    JiveTurkee and DoubleDAZWIFE like this.
    Happy Thrive user running CM10 Jellybean.


 
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast


Remove Ads

Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Search tags for this page

ics for thrive
,
ics on thrive
,
ics toshiba thrive
,
ics update differences
,
ics update for toshiba thrive
,
is toshiba backing out on ics thrive
,
razr ics
,
thrive forums ics
,

thrive ics

,

thrive ics update

,
toshiba ics update
,
toshiba thrive ics
,

toshiba thrive ics update

,
what difference will ics make
,
why cant i watch tije warner cable on my toshiba thrive
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.