• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    11417
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    1 times

    Hooking up a Thrive to an external monitor

    I'm wondering if I can connect my TT to a stand alone lcd monitor (that is not hooked up to a computer) to use as a larger screen to watch movies and such on... The monitor only has a vga plug in, but I have a vga to hdmi converter box so I can feed the hdmi from the monitor to the TT. But, when I get it all hooked up and what I think is set to go, nothing shows up on the monitor. Does anyone know if there is an app or a setting that I need to download or change in order for the video to output to the display? Or if this is even possible at all?

  2. Ads


  3. #2
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    9444
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    3 times
    unfortunately i dont belive your converter works both ways. i connect my thrive to a monitor using a hdmi to vga and audio output that i found on amazon for 35 bucks. picture can be scewed at first but an auto adjust does the trick.

  4. #3
    Agent Thrive
    Member #
    4727
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,103
    Liked
    89 times
    thay do make a coverter that alows you to covert hdmi on your thrive to your vga monitor.there is a post here that has the link to it.its about 40 dollars.i thought that was a good price.if i find it i will add the link.if dave read this post im sure he will add it.

  5. #4
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    11417
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    1 times
    Thanks so much for the advice! It never crossed my mind that the converter needed to go from hdmi to vga and not vga to hdmi I had this particular converter from some other project and just thought, hey, I'll give it a try! I guess it's off to Amazon I go Thanks again!

  6. #5
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,836
    Liked
    1283 times
    Quote Originally Posted by headerann View Post
    Thanks so much for the advice! It never crossed my mind that the converter needed to go from hdmi to vga and not vga to hdmi I had this particular converter from some other project and just thought, hey, I'll give it a try! I guess it's off to Amazon I go Thanks again!
    Here's an Amazon link:

    http://www.amazon.com/Audio-Converte...1252528&sr=8-7
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  7. #6
    Agent Thrive
    Member #
    4727
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,103
    Liked
    89 times
    i used my hdmi port on the thrive to my 26'monitor.my monitor is hd and has a hdmi port on it.really look good.the hdmi also carry the sound to.

  8. #7
    Agent Thrive
    Member #
    4727
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,103
    Liked
    89 times
    hi dave what the difference in this one and the one you posted in another post?

  9. #8
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,836
    Liked
    1283 times
    Quote Originally Posted by rtmaston View Post
    hi dave what the difference in this one and the one you posted in another post?
    The output audio ports. This one has standard L-R RCA connectors and the Amazon one has a 3.5 headphone connector, and he mentioned Amazon here.

    http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
    Last edited by DoubleDAZ; 03-08-2012 at 06:05 PM.
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  10. #9
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    11417
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    6
    Liked
    1 times
    Cool! That is the same one on Amazon I found when I searched today! Maybe I'll have to put that on my wish list for Mother's Day :-) thanks everybody for the help!

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk

  11. #10
    Agent Thrive
    Member #
    4727
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    2,103
    Liked
    89 times
    let us know if you get it working.we will pass it on to others who want to know.seem like there are a few trying to do it.


 


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

can i hook my toshiba tablet to a monitor
,
can i hook up my acer tablet to larger monitor for video
,
can the toshiba thrive be used as a monitor
,
can you hook up a monitor to a toshiba thrive
,
change external display toshiba tab
,
connect android tablet to external monitor
,
connect external monitor to android tablet
,
connect thrive to monitor
,
connecting toshiba thrive to monitor
,
hook up a monitot to thrive
,
how to add a monitor to toshiba thrive
,
how to connect your toshiba tablet to hdmi
,
how to use hdmi on toshiba thrive
,
thrive monitor
,

toshiba thrive external monitor

Click on a term to search our site for related topics.

Tags for this Thread