• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36
Like Tree3Likes

Thread: Foxfi questions

  1. #11
    Thrive Operative
    Member #
    11553
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    155
    Liked
    10 times
    There is nothing wrong with the app itself, but on ST using a mobile hot spot app can be risky for a few reasons.
    First being, ST does not allow it. Second being that even if they don't say anything about you using the MHS it is easy to get carried away with the data usage when on a PC and you could blow through high amounts in a short period and get your service canned.
    Contrary to what some seem to think. ST is not offering a MiFi service through these phones. If someone wants a MiFi service try Virgin Mobiles MiFi service/device or go through any other provider that sells MiFi devices specifically for that use.


    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited by Androidfonefan; 04-30-2012 at 06:09 PM.

  2. Ads


  3. #12
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    14711
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1
    Liked
    0 times

    Foxfi and the Motorola Atrix

    I have the Atrix (first model) so I know that foxfi isn't able to be used as a mobile hotspot with this phone. However, can I use the bluetooth mode with this phone? How would I go about doing so? Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

  4. #13
    Thrive Conveyor
    Member #
    232
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Akron Ohio
    Posts
    481
    Liked
    64 times
    Works well,no bill change.

    Sent from my AT100 using Tapatalk 2

  5. #14
    Banned
    Member #
    8988
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    625
    Liked
    65 times
    Twitter
    Winhacker_es
    pdanet 3.50 is better :-)

    cuz you can do wifi hotspot with a 4g/3g device or turn it to a wifi usb dongle for your computer :-)

    i use it with my thrive :-)

    Sent from my Toshiba Thrive 32Gb - If it can be hacked, deserves to be hacked

  6. #15
    Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    11884
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Deep South Texas
    Posts
    20
    Liked
    0 times

    Cool

    Quote Originally Posted by Winhacker View Post
    pdanet 3.50 is better :-)

    cuz you can do wifi hotspot with a 4g/3g device or turn it to a wifi usb dongle for your computer
    so much better?
    version 3.50 is integrated with FoxFi to give you WFi Hotspot mode support
    plus i can use Linux--- 'cause I have no Windows---
    Last edited by ernestgalvan; 06-02-2012 at 10:07 PM.
    "Free software is a matter of liberty, not price." -- Richard Stallman
    So don't forget to tip your software authors!
    IMM76D.01.00072314 (DaleNet Deodexed Stock Rooted ICS 4.0.4)

  7. #16
    Thrive Conveyor
    Member #
    5359
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    Oklahoma but lived most of my adult life in New York City.
    Posts
    311
    Liked
    40 times
    I have Straight Talk Smartphone unlimited plan and I have used Foxfi for three months without a problem. However, I only use the wifi 4 days a month and basically for email and basic web browsing! So I'm not expectingna problem!. By the way it work really great when I do used even with my rooted Samsung Precedent (I was using "android tether" but it was flaky and then stopped working thus the switch to Foxfi)!

    Al

  8. #17
    Banned
    Member #
    8988
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    625
    Liked
    65 times
    Twitter
    Winhacker_es
    Quote Originally Posted by ernestgalvan View Post
    so much better?


    plus i can use Linux--- 'cause I have no Windows---
    so much better cuz you can do safe navigation :-)

    i dont know if foxfi has that...

    Sent from my Toshiba Thrive 32Gb - If it can be hacked, deserves to be hacked

  9. #18
    Thrive Tech
    Member #
    4491
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    160 times
    Has anyone tried to use the Bluetooth teather option?

    life is better with root.

  10. #19
    Super Moderator
    Member #
    3885
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Peoria AZ
    Posts
    7,841
    Liked
    1290 times
    Quote Originally Posted by kenneth View Post
    Has anyone tried to use the Bluetooth teather option?
    All I get is paired but not connected, but I admit I don't know much about BT.
    Cheers, Dave

    ICS Rooted (IMM76D.01.000072314)

  11. #20
    Thrive Tech
    Member #
    4491
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    1,417
    Liked
    160 times
    Quote Originally Posted by DoubleDAZ View Post
    All I get is paired but not connected, but I admit I don't know much about BT.
    Ha! that's exactly what I get. Thanks for checking. I'll quit messing with it now.

    life is better with root.


 


Ads

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts

Search tags for this page

does foxfi use data
,

does foxfi use your data plan

,
does foxfi work on straight talk
,

does foxfi work with straight talk

,
does foxfi work with straight talk phones
,
foxfi and straight talk
,

foxfi for straight talk

,
foxfi for straight talk phones
,

foxfi on straight talk

,

foxfi straight talk

,
foxfi straight talk android
,
foxfi with straight talk
,
foxfire hotspot for straight talk
,

straight talk foxfi

,
using foxfi with straight talk
Click on a term to search our site for related topics.