• Login:

Welcome to the Toshiba Thrive Forum.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: New owner in Southern California, need advice

Thrive Lurker
    Member #
    Liked
    2 times

New owner in Southern California, need advice

I have been using computers for many years. I have HP laptops, a Kindle Fire and my newly acquired Toshiba Thrive. I bought a refurbished unit to save money. My reason for purchasing a tablet was to store my music (sheet music) files. The class I am enrolled in posts all our new songs in PDF format. I need to download the PDF file and put it into 1 of 4 folders.

When I first got the tablet I was able to do this using the Thrive's built in file manager. It was fairly simple (select, cut & paste). Then I figured out how to update to Android ICS. Now the file manager looks and seems to function differently. I can't figure out how to move a file out of the download folder into my music folders.

Can anyone give me step by step instructions on how to move these files?

Your help would be greatly appreciated.

Zen

2. Ads

Super Moderator
    Member #
    Liked
    895 times
    Hi Zen, and welcome to Thrive Forums! Yes, the file manager does look different now.

Long press to file you wish to move. A checkmark will appear within a red square .

Then either select the 'scissors icon', or the 'two files' icon, at the top right of the screen. The scissors icon will 'cut' and remove the file from it's current location (and hold it until you paste it where you want it.) The two files icon will copy the original file, for pasting elsewhere, but leave a copy of it in the original location.

Navigate to the destination folder (your music folder) and tap the first icon, the 'clipboard' That's it. :-)